GIFT: my face on m&ms

12Feb10

I received my first traffic ticket this morning. I admit, it put a damper to my cheery mood but I reminded myself that things could be worse. The cop was nice enough to round off the speed I was going to allow me to potentially go to traffic school. I’m going to muster the strength to re-live the joy I felt last night when I arrived home from work to give this post justice.

I am that person who loves to receive packages in the mail. Online shopping is dangerous and I’ve done my share of damage but I haven’t clicked “checkout” for a hot minute. While I was excited to see a brown box on the floor with my name on it, I couldn’t help but to wonder who/where it came from. Within 30 seconds of laying my eyes on it, I had already ripped it open. Three 7 oz bags of green, light blue and white milk chocolate M&Ms with a gumball machine. Fucking. Sweet. My smile stretched from ear to ear and I couldn’t wait to fill that sucker in with candy. Simple as it may be, I thought this was a GREAT gift to give a food enthusiast….

But that wasn’t all of what I was about to find out. Upon closer inspection, I noticed something different. These weren’t your regular milk chocolate childhood snacks. “No, it couldn’t be,” I thought. Is that a face on a M&M? Whoa. Is that MY face on the M&M? Whoa. Is that MY name too? Eyes wide open, jaw dropped, double takes, I could not believe it. What is going on here?


These personalized candies were an ingenious idea. Kudos to the gift giver. Thumbs up, pat on the back, certificate of appreciation, a sincere “thank you.” It left me quite speechless and it was only natural for me to decide to NEVER, EVER open any of the three bags. Besides, I didn’t want to eat myself … *pause*

At eleven o’clock in the evening time, I took a trip to the local 24 hour Ralph’s to return some baking items and to purchase a bag of M&Ms almonds for my new gumball machine. When I returned home, I realized that the gumball machine was ideally for regular sized M&Ms. Fortunately, the almond ones fit but could only be dispensed ONE almond M&M at a time. So, for a mere $0.25, you can purchase ONE almond M&M from a chung’s gumball machine. I thought about bringing it into work to see who would actually give me a quarter for one of those tasty suckers. The idea is still in consideration….

4 Responses to “GIFT: my face on m&ms”

  1. That’s awesome! What a cool gift idea.

  2. 2 stan

    LOL…. 1 almond m&m for $0.25… what a ripp off.. lol……

  3. 3 soulfullypoetic.

    WOW! Now I know where that picture on your twitter page [or is it facebook] came from? How crazy is that! You’re an iconic blessing to the makers of M&Ms =D

  4. What you wrote made a lot of sense. But, consider
    this, what if you composed a catchier title?
    I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t good, however what if you added a title that grabbed people’s attention? I mean GIFT: my face on m&ms | ¢hung ¢hange is kinda vanilla. You should look at Yahoo’s
    home page and note how they create news titles to grab viewers interested.

    You might add a related video or a related picture or two to
    grab readers excited about what you’ve written. Just my opinion, it might bring your posts a little bit more interesting.


Leave a Reply

