a poem…

17Mar10

Some singers sing of ladies’ eyes,
And some of ladies’ lips
Refined ones praise their ladylike ways,
And coarse ones praise their hips.
“The Oxford Book of English Verse”
Is lush with lyrics tender;
A poet, I guess, is more or less,
Preoccupied with gender.
Yet I, though custom call me crude,
Prefer to sing in praise of food…
Food,
Just food,
Just any old kind of food…
Let it be sour
Or let it be sweet
As long as it’s something to eat…
If it’s food,
It’s food;
Never mind what kind of food.
When I ponder my mind
I consistently find
It is glued
On food.

— Ogden Nash

3 Responses to “a poem…”

  1. 1 Me

    I like.

  2. 2 soulfullypoetic.

    DAMN! I thought this was your piece… until I saw Ogden’s name on the bottom. but this poem does fit your style, though..

  3. 3 kathryn

    ithe poems i do i write myself but all my email is on a shelf waiting for me to reply but i tried and tried to get through and now i don’t have a clue, i have family on facebook old and new i just need a way through yahoo to get through


Leave a Reply

