EVENT REVIEW: Paper Ships (ATCQ Party) @ Exchange LA 7.7.11

10Jul11

Beats, Rhymes & Life

Okay, so I lied.  Today’s post will not be about my trip to France but instead my little review of the “Paper Ships” event held at the fancy Exchange LA venue last week on Thursday, July 7th.  Actor and director Michael Rapaport hosted the event in celebration of his documentary “Beats Rhymes & Life: The Travels of a Tribe Called Quest” featuring Phife Dawg, Madlib, Stones Throw’s Peanut Butter Wolf, Prince Paul, Dublab’s Frosty and KCRW’s Garth Trinadad.

If you didn’t buy a ticket in advance, you were probably standing in the long line that wrapped around the corner of Spring and 6th St.  But why wouldn’t you purchase tickets in advance for this event?  And if you didn’t go to this event, you were probably at either one of the Arclight theaters trying to watch the documentary.  I knew some friends of mine who went to the party and also bought tickets to the documentary for that same evening at midnight.  What?!  How could you bounce out of the movie party for the movie and miss the stars of the doc?  When are you going to see Phife perform again?  With my effective persuasive skills and a few drinks, I was able to convince them both why leaving the party for the doc would be absurd.

If you ever catch him on 89.9 FM KCRW (Mon – Fri from 8PM – 10PM), you know Garth Trinidad delivers the best in progressive soul, hip-hop, and world rhythms.  He is definitely one of my favorite DJs alongside Madlib and Peanut Butter Wolf, who also played great sets that night.  Speaking of great sets, are you familiar with Dublab?  They’re a non-profit web radio collective who I fell in musical love with during my trip to France.  I’ve had their podcast sets for a long time now but it wasn’t until my recent trip that I had time to take a serious listen (the set from beatmaker BATHS is what did it for me).  It was good to know that Dublab was a part of Paper Ships because good music is important to me.

Prince Paul

I can now say I’ve had the pleasure of seeing Prince Paul do this thing.  It was also his first time mixing with videos and he did a GREAT job juggling that, even when he looked confused at times.  And at his age, he is still looking good!

Phife

Phife ripped the mic.  His passion for music glowed with his performance.  Overall, the party was a success.  People who had purchased tickets in advance entered smoothly – security were not assholes.  I’ve always been a fan of the Exchange LA venue because it’s spacious and no matter where you are standing, there isn’t a bad “seat.”  The party was still lively after 2AM – Prince Paul was lovin’ the crowd.

Although I was tempted, I wanted to respect Rapaport’s request of no videos.  However, take a look at someone else’s video footage of Phife performing “Buggin’ Out” for your viewing pleasure below:

No Responses Yet to “EVENT REVIEW: Paper Ships (ATCQ Party) @ Exchange LA 7.7.11”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

