EVENT (LA): Eat Real Festival @ Helms Bakery 7/16 & 7/17

13Jul11

Eat Real Festival

For those familiar with me, my eyes, mouth or stomach … know that I have a, per AG’s (my piggy friend since grade school) words, “unhealthy obsession with food.”  With that being said, it is only appropriate that I share this incredibly educational and delicious FREE event – EAT REAL FESTIVAL – that is going down this weekend on Saturday, July 16th and Sunday, July 17th at Helms Bakery in Culver City.  Now let me clarify that entrance fee is FREE but the food offered from vendors will cost $5 or less.

Why my eyes?  They widen when I hear or speak of anything related to food.  Why my mouth?  When not stuffing it, I’m usually talking about food.  Why my stomach?  Well, I think that is pretty obvious *proceeds to pat pot belly (c) Pulp Fiction*

This food festival is not your typical.  The good people at Eat Real is dedicated to not only offering a location for food-face-smashing but a platform to learn about the food.  In their words:

Eat Real combines a state fair, a street-food festival, and a block party to create a celebration of good food. At the Eat Real Festival, participants learn where food comes from, who grows and makes it, and how they make it. Eat Real Festival attendance is 100% free of charge, all food at the festival costs $5 and less, and all food incorporates regionally-sourced, fabulous, and sustainably-produced ingredients.

Eat Real is a social venture business with an affiliated non-profit focused on promoting and teaching food craft. Eat Real’s mission is to help revitalize regional food systems, build public awareness of and respect for the craft of making good food and to encourage the growth of American food entrepreneurs.

So get your brains and mouths ready for some learning and eating this weekend, unless you will be stuck in Car-mageddon due to the shutdown of the 405 FWY.  If so, I feel sorry for you.

Sponsors worth mentioning follows as I am a genuine fan of these companies: LA Weekly, KCRW, Chow.com, Root Down LA, Yelp and many more.

You can follow Eat Real Festival on Twitter here.

Helms Bakery

8675 Washington Boulevard
Culver City, CA 90232

Saturday, July 16th (10:30AM – 9PM)
Sunday, July 17th (10:30AM – 5PM)

http://www.eatrealfest.com

Festival Details
Festival Guide

*photos and info courtesy of Eat Real Festival

One Response to “EVENT (LA): Eat Real Festival @ Helms Bakery 7/16 & 7/17”

  1. 1 Lose face Fat

    Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for beginner blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

