LOOK: west hollywood library murals | shepard fairey, retna, kenny scharf

22Nov11
Photobucket

Shepard Fairey "Peace Elephant"

I frequent the West Hollywood Library every week because they have an awesome DVD collection where I rent various movies from.  The day I registered for a library card, I rented five movies.  The next day, I rented five more.  I was averaging about 1-2 movies daily until my schedule filled up a bit.  I had to renew a couple of times because I was not finishing my movies before they were due (they give you a week to return).  If you love indie or international flicks, their collection is pretty robust.  I highly recommend visiting this newly minted facility not just for their AV section but to experience the its beauty inside and out.

Photobucket

RETNA

One day after dropping off/renting more DVDs, I decided to walk over to the other side of the parking lot and was pleasantly surprised to see a giant Shepard Fairey mural covering an entire side of the lot.  Kenny Scharf and RETNA (a.k.a. Marquis Lewis) also had their respective art space on the other sides.

I’m rather late on this but whatevas.  Cadillac & Vanity Fair, in association with the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles (MOCA) presents the West Hollywood Library Murals.  These fantastic pieces of work made its debut a few months back.

The West Hollywood Library Murals is an extension of MoCa’s wildly popular Art in the Streets exhibition which was on view at The Geffen Contemporary at MOCA from april 17 to august 8, 2011. art in the streets traced the evolution of graffiti and street art from the 1970s to the global movement it has become today. Renowned photographer David LaChapelle captured the artists and their murals for a custom portfolio, presented by Cadillac, for the november 2011 issue of Vanity Fair.

Photobucket

Kenny Scharf

Check out the gallery below for more close up shots of the murals!

No Responses Yet to “LOOK: west hollywood library murals | shepard fairey, retna, kenny scharf”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

