WKEND RECAP: food, art, more food – less words, more pictures

05Mar12

Photobucket

This past weekend was very relaxing and I was able to be more active in the kitchen, which was documented in photos.  I ran, cooked, ate, enjoyed art, took car for regular maintenance, shopped, walked the busy streets of Old Town Pasadena in blazing Los Angeles weather and stuffed my face. What a way to give my 20-day master cleanse the big middle finger. Get a glimpse of what I did this past weekend and the fatty goodness I put in my body. I’m going to try to post up photos and use less text because there is just too much info to be put into words. Besides, you’re more inclined to look at pretty colors than to read … sadly.

FRIDAY – MARCH 2, 2012

Photobucket

I was determined to have a chill weekend with no plans. Friday evening after the gym, I decided to make roasted chickpeas. This batch I used cumin, coriander and cayenne pepper. Could have let it sit in the oven longer to get more crisp but was still good!

SATURDAY – MARCH 3, 2012

Photobucket

What an eventful day. I took my car to the dealership for an oil change and wash and was able to bask in the sun with a run to the bike path near my house – all before 12:30PM. After my run, I made a quick caprese sandwich with whole wheat bread, homemade basil pesto, mozzarella cheese, tomato and spinach before heading out. I inhaled this immediately after.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Pasadena California Museum of Art (PCMA) was hosting Pacific Standard Time’s “Art as an Appetizer” program, where food trucks (Border Grill, Casablanca Truck, Flat Iron Truck, Gourmet GenieGO CHEW) offered dishes that were inspired by L.A. RAW. But first, I had to check out Kenny Scharf’s work in PCMA’s parking lot titled “Kosmic Krylon Garage” (2004).

Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket

I wasn’t quite sure what “Art as an Appetizer” was about unti I got there … a bunch of food trucks in a parking lot. I’m not attracted to food trucks because a majority of them are mediocre. There are a few that I’ve been wanting to try but don’t think it is worth “chasing.” I opted to check out the PCMA’s exhibit ($7 for adults) L.A. Raw: Abject Expressionism in Los Angeles, 1945-1980, From Rico Lebrun to Paul McCarthy.

The exibhit was worth the money that was spent. I highly recommend that anyone interested in learning about artists who have a made an impact in the Los Angeles art scene and art education, to check out this exhibit. A few of the artists, whose work I enjoyed, includes John Altoon, Charles White, Wallace BermanJudith Baca, Rico Lebrun, Howard Warshaw, Ben Sakoguchi and James Gill. No photography was allowed but no photos are needed. Just take my advice if you like abstract art!

Photobucket
Photobucket

After the art event, I went on a grocery shopping spree at Trader Joe’s (one of my faves) and spent nearly $100 (again). Bad habit. Anyway, I’ve been meaning to make tomato basil soup since trying Yardhouse’s tomato basil bisque because it was that good. Except the recipe I had was not for the bisque version but I didn’t care. Like (probably) all newbies, the blender blew up in my face when it was time to puree everything. It happened not once but a few times until I Google’d why the hell this was freakin’ happening. As you can tell by now, it was my first time making soup of this nature. In the end, everything worked out and tasted good.
SUNDAY – MARCH 3, 2012

Photobucket
Photobucket

What do you do with bread that has been sitting in your fridge for two weeks? You know it’s still good to eat but also know that it’s about time to make it disappear. Case in point, I decided to make parmesan croutons, which was only fitting to accompany my tomato basil soup (I froze half the batch because I am just one person!). Without shame, I spooned the leftover cheese from the bowl and ate it. Yes, ALL OF IT. I couldn’t let it go to waste!

Photobucket

My PIC (partner in crime) and I hit up Mi Piace in Pasadena for lunch. I originally wanted to go to Vertical Wine Bistro for Old Town Pasadena’s happy hour week but realized that they weren’t open that early. My bad. Mi Piace was not a bad alternative if you don’t mind sh!tty service. I have a love/hate relationship with this eatery. I’ve been coming here for years and sh!tty service never fails. I don’t get it. There are plenty of reviews online that serves as evidence of their lackluster service. So why aren’t they doing anything about it? I stopped dining there for years (until recently) for this very reason. On the flip side, their food is good and affordable. Love and hate you, Mi Piace.

They temporarily redeem themselves by placing their yummy complimentary garlic parmesan bread (no pic) on your table, even if it comes after your entree (WTF!). The calamari is forgettable. The batter needs help and the calamari was not fresh. Please do yourself a favor and NOT ORDER THIS.

Photobucket

I ordered their spinach gnocchi with goat cheese and roasted ricotta, which was also forgettable. It wasn’t bad but was not fantastic and I wouldn’t care to order it again.

Photobucket
Photobucket

PIC ordered their kobe beef burger (with fries), which was VERY tasty. Their fries were fanstastically fried to perfection and the medium well-cooked patty was oh-so juicy. I would order this next time I feel like clogging my arteries.

After lunch, we walked and shopped the mean streets of Old Town Pasadena. It was crazy busy with a few parking lots being full. The sun brings everyone out.

Photobucket

When I got home, I wanted to make something to prepare for another work week. Produce are on the verge of going bad in my fridge so I thought it’d be nice to prep for a yummy salad recipe I had. I candied some pecans and placed an avocado in a brown bag with an apple so it’ll ripen quicker.  This salad will be eaten towards the middle of the week because of the avocado. Hurry up and get ripe!

Photobucket

The brussel sprouts in my fridge had to be cooked or be wasted. I chose the former and prepped to roast. I fell in love with brussel sprouts after trying Joan’s on Third’s popular brussel sprout salad with dates, manchego cheese and almonds (you must try if you are ever in the area). The recipe I had ended up being amazing because it had a delicious maple dijon dressing to pair with the veggies and includes roasted sliced almonds. I love nuts in my foods. Yes, I love nuts.

I didn’t finish cooking until 1AM because I started cooking late. Hell, I’ve been cooking at ungodly hours. Cooking while I am hungry, waiting for the food to be done while salivating over everything is not fun. I tend to start late in the evening when I am already full and focused.

This is a quick wrap up to my weekend and I hope you’ve enjoyed the photos. I intended this post to have less words but I guess I filled up a bit as more photos were included. Apologies. At least I didn’t include recipes, which would have made this post even longer. Ciao!



3 Responses to “WKEND RECAP: food, art, more food – less words, more pictures”

  1. 1 soulfullypoetic.

    This is awesome! I like how you gave your master cleanse ‘the middle finger’. I need to seriously look into doing that though.. at least every now and then. But what person can I learn that from other than my own sister? =) At least you had a good time travelling all over town!

    You should be a chef! naaahhhh… that’ll take away your time of being a travelling connoisseur lol.


  1. 1 WKEND RECAP: planet dailies, speculoos, potluck – less words, more pics « ¢hung ¢hange

Leave a Reply

